Misogyny 101

Last night I came downstairs into the kitchen to make myself something to eat.  My mom happened to be watching the local news, so I overheard this interview as I was spreading Nutella onto a piece of bread.

Now, I’m wary of how people are portrayed by the mainstream media– especially the local news.  It’s often classist, racist, and sexist, so I take it with a grain of salt.  But there’s no getting around this guy’s misogyny.  I’ve transcribed the most offensive parts of the interview here:

Reporter (who is a woman): It’s a little illegal to leave the wood in the street, so what I’m asking is…

Man being interviewed: I don’t take no orders from no woman, by the way– by the way, I don’t take no orders from no women.

Reporter: But somebody said that they tried to yell at you to come back, and you kept going, and then…

Man: It must have been a woman, and I don’t listen to women yelling; I tell them to shut up.

Even my mom was stunned by what he said, and she’s usually the first person to tell me to “cool it with the feminism thing.”

Given what I heard on the news last night, I guess I shouldn’t be surprised by the fact that the Senate GOP blocked the Paycheck Fairness Act earlier this week.

I don’t really know what else to say about this.  When you’re as hopeful for change as I am, I guess it’s hard to accept that it’s still secretly 1954 in this country.  I tend to shy away from using the term “war on women,” because I think it’s trite, but I don’t really know what else to call it at this point.  We’ve clearly got a ton of work to do.  When this is how women are referred to in the MAINSTREAM MEDIA THAT MOST PEOPLE WATCH FROM THE SUPPOSED SAFETY OF THEIR OWN HOMES, something’s gotta give.

About Amelia

feminist, seafood enthusiast, bookworm, blogworm
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

