My day in food

One day recently while mindlessly perusing the Internet, I came across a comment from someone who said, “I’m a non-vegetarian who eats mostly vegetarian food.”

That describes me quite well.  I’m basically a vegetarian, unless my mom cooks white meat for dinner, but that virtually never happens because she and my dad prefer red meat, and I won’t eat that.

I’ve also spent the last couple of years trying to eat more organic food.  Living near a Trader Joe’s really helps with that.  But again, I live with my mom, who shops at Kroger, and so wind up eating non-organic food if and when it’s convenient for me.

I feel like my eating style can be described as “half-assed hippie.”  It’s also a very accurate representation of me in general.  I mean well, and try really hard, but sometimes I fuck up.  Some of that is due to circumstances beyond my control, but part of it is also just laziness.

Yesterday, just for the hell of it, I decided to document everything I ate and drank, just to see what a typical day looks like for me food-wise.

Observations:

  • I am way less addicted to caffeine than I used to be.  I like to start my day with a cup of coffee, but don’t need it to keep me going.  
  • I babysit on Tuesdays, all day.  The girl’s parents always comment on the fact that I never eat the food in their fridge.  That’s because I generally eat breakfast beforehand, and usually, whenever I eat breakfast, I can go quite a long time without needing to eat again.  See documentation below: I ate breakfast around 9 a.m. and didn’t eat a substantial meal again until 7 p.m.  I don’t know why that is, but it is, so hey.

7:15 a.m. – One cup of coffee (which is not an exact measurement; I just drank a mug of it)

8:55 a.m. – One bowl of oatmeal, covered in brown sugar, banana slices, blueberries, and “roasted coconut chips,” (which, in case you’re wondering are a product of Trader Joe’s, and are delicious).  All of this was organic except for the brown sugar (which I found, partially hardened, in my cupboard, which means my mom probably bought it in 2003, but oh well).

1:30 p.m. – One banana (which I’m pretty sure that, unlike my previous banana, was not organic; I was babysitting at someone else’s house)

3:35 p.m. – One small dark chocolate peanut butter cup, a handful of coconut chips, and a handful of organic blueberries.  Observation: I enjoy fruit.

4:15 p.m. – One Yogi detox tea

5:30 p.m. – One bottle of Bell’s Hopslam beer (aka one bottle of the love of my life)

7:00 p.m. – Two slices of cheese pizza and two pieces of bruchetta (I was visiting my sister in Windsor, Ontario, and she took me to a pizza place she likes that makes the pizza in brick ovens, which is awesome; I would have preferred to add some vegetables to my pizza, but my sister was already kind enough to agree to order a pizza without pepperoni on it for me, and I didn’t want to push my luck)

8:15 p.m. – One yogi peach detox tea, and one slice of my grandmother’s “blueberry dessert” (which is basically vanilla pudding, blueberry preserves, and graham crackers all smushed together)

10:00 p.m. – One bottle of the love of my life (see entry for 5:30 p.m.)

11:45 p.m. – One Emergen-C packet mixed with water (I use these for weird reasons that, for me, work; in this case, it was past my bedtime–I’m old and boring and go to bed early–and my body was starting to rebel a little; my voice started to get hoarse for no other reason other than it was tired, so I drank some to prevent myself from waking up with phantom sickness, and then went to bed)

About Amelia

feminist, seafood enthusiast, bookworm, blogworm
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

